The best budget robot lawn mowers in Australia
Quick answer: The best budget robot lawn mower in Australia is the Ecovacs Goat O600 RTK, $1,299 at Bunnings and Ecovacs: wire-free, rated for 600 m² and 45% (24°) slopes, with a three-year warranty. If you are happy to lay a boundary wire, the Gardena Sileno Minimo 250 is $899 at Bunnings for small lawns, and the Husqvarna Aspire R4 is $999 for up to 400 m².
We may earn a commission when you buy through links on this page. It does not change what we recommend. How this works.
Our picks at a glance
| Product | Ecovacs Best budget robotGoat O600 RTK$1,299 Bunnings | Gardena Cheapest at BunningsSileno Minimo 250$899 Bunnings | Husqvarna Best under $1,000Automower Aspire R4$999 Husqvarna | Husqvarna Best deal right nowAutomower 405X$1,434 Husqvarna | Mammotion Best wire-free at BunningsYuka Mini 600$1,499 Bunnings | Roborock Best no-antenna budget pickRockNeo Q105$1,499 Bunnings | Anthbot Most lawn for the moneyGenie 600E$1,199 Bunnings Marketplace | Bosch Best for courtyardsVisiMow 18V-200Price at the retailer |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lawn area | 600 m² | 250 m² | 400 m² | 600 m² | 600 m² | 500 m² | 900 m² | 200 m² |
| Navigation | RTK (TrueMapping 2.0) + AI camera | Boundary wire | Boundary wire | Boundary wire | NetRTK + stereo camera AI vision | Network RTK + camera (VSLAM) | Full-band RTK + four-camera vision | Camera only (SmartVision) |
| Max slope | 45% (24°) | 25% | Not stated on the pages we read | 40%, 15% at the boundary | 45% (about 24°) | 45% (24.2°) | 45% | Not stated |
| Why it's here | Wire-free RTK, 600 m², 45% slopes, 30 to 80 mm cut and a three-year warranty for $1,299. | Boundary-wire robot for 250 m² with a PIN lock and a lift sensor that stops the blades, $899. | 400 m² with 150 m of wire and 300 stakes in the box, app and voice control, $999. | Half price on Husqvarna's site when we checked: $1,434 with an install kit for 600 m² and 40% slopes. | NetRTK and stereo cameras, 600 m², three-year warranty including battery, $1,499. | Network RTK with no antenna to install, a 220 mm cut and 45% slopes, $1,499 at Bunnings. | Rated for 900 m² and 45% slopes for $1,199 through a Bunnings Marketplace seller. | Camera-only, nothing to install, for up to 200 m². Battery sold separately; check the current price on Amazon. |
| Watch out for | Short 45 minute run time on the Amazon listing | Boundary wire to lay | You lay and peg a boundary wire around the lawn and any garden beds | Boundary wire to install | Bunnings' feature list says 45% is 28 degrees; 45 percent is about 24 degrees | New to Bunnings, with no reviews when we checked | Sold by a Marketplace seller at Bunnings, not Bunnings itself | Battery and charger are not in the box |
| Buy | Check Amazon$1,299 at Bunnings$1,299 at Ecovacs | $899 at Bunnings | Check Amazon$999 at Husqvarna | Check Amazon$1,434 at Husqvarna | $1,499 at Bunnings | $1,499 at Bunnings | Check Amazon$1,199 at Bunnings Marketplace | Check Amazon |
Wire-free RTK, 600 m², 45% slopes, 30 to 80 mm cut and a three-year warranty for $1,299.
$1,299 at Bunnings · checked 18 Oct 2026
Boundary-wire robot for 250 m² with a PIN lock and a lift sensor that stops the blades, $899.
$899 at Bunnings · checked 18 Oct 2026
400 m² with 150 m of wire and 300 stakes in the box, app and voice control, $999.
$999 at Husqvarna · checked 18 Oct 2026
Half price on Husqvarna's site when we checked: $1,434 with an install kit for 600 m² and 40% slopes.
$1,434 at Husqvarna · checked 18 Oct 2026
NetRTK and stereo cameras, 600 m², three-year warranty including battery, $1,499.
$1,499 at Bunnings · checked 18 Oct 2026
Network RTK with no antenna to install, a 220 mm cut and 45% slopes, $1,499 at Bunnings.
$1,499 at Bunnings · checked 18 Oct 2026
Rated for 900 m² and 45% slopes for $1,199 through a Bunnings Marketplace seller.
$1,199 at Bunnings Marketplace · checked 18 Oct 2026
Camera-only, nothing to install, for up to 200 m². Battery sold separately; check the current price on Amazon.
Price at the retailer
How we picked: We compared these 8 picks on lawn area, navigation, max slope and price, using maker specs, Australian retailer prices and owner reports. We haven't tested them hands-on yet, and maker claims are labelled as theirs. Commission never changes the order. Full method.
You no longer need $3,000 for a robot that keeps the lawn tidy. Under $1,500 there are now wire-free robots from Ecovacs, Mammotion and Roborock alongside the long-running boundary-wire models from Husqvarna and Gardena, and most are on the shelf at Bunnings. What you give up at this price is lawn area, slope rating, or the convenience of skipping the wire, so the trick is knowing which of those your yard can spare. Prices are from Bunnings, Ecovacs and Husqvarna on 18 October 2026; for models also on Amazon Australia, check the current price on Amazon. We compared maker specifications and retailer listings rather than running the robots ourselves.
What a budget buys in 2026
| Price | Robot | Finds the edge with | Lawn area | Max slope | Where |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| $899 | Gardena Sileno Minimo 250 | Boundary wire | 250 m² | 25% | Bunnings |
| $999 | Husqvarna Aspire R4 | Boundary wire | 400 m² | Not stated | Husqvarna |
| $1,199 | Anthbot Genie 600E | RTK + four cameras | 900 m² | 45% | Bunnings Marketplace |
| $1,250 | Ozito PXC Freelexo Cam | Camera, guide cable included | 500 m² | Not stated | Bunnings |
| $1,299 | Ecovacs Goat O600 RTK | RTK + camera | 600 m² | 45% (24°) | Bunnings, Ecovacs |
| $1,434 | Husqvarna Automower 405X | Boundary wire | 600 m² | 40% | Husqvarna (campaign price) |
| $1,499 | Mammotion Yuka Mini 600 | NetRTK + stereo cameras | 600 m² | 45% | Bunnings |
| $1,499 | Roborock RockNeo Q105 | Network RTK + camera | 500 m² | 45% (24.2°) | Bunnings |
The Bosch VisiMow 18V-200, a camera-only robot for up to 200 m², is sold by Amazon Australia; check the current price on Amazon, and budget for an 18V Power for All battery and charger, which are not in the box.
Wire or no wire on a budget
Among the robots we found at Bunnings and Husqvarna, every one under $1,000 uses a boundary wire. That means an afternoon running the wire around the lawn’s edge and around any bed or tree you want it to skip, then pegging it down: the Husqvarna Aspire R4 kit comes with 150 m of wire and 300 stakes for its 400 m² rating. Once it is in, a wired robot needs no satellite signal, no phone data and no mapping. It is also the oldest approach: Husqvarna says it launched the first fully robotic mower in 1995.
From $1,199 you can skip the wire. The catch at this price is the positioning system. The Ecovacs O600 uses RTK, and Ecovacs’ pages do not say whether a base station is involved; Bunnings’ listing for the Mammotion Yuka Mini 600 says no antenna is required but puts an RTK reference station and antenna in the box; the Roborock Q105 uses network RTK with no antenna. Ask what you will be installing before you pay. The wire-free robot mower guide explains base stations and network RTK in more detail.
The picks
The Ecovacs Goat O600 RTK is the budget robot we would buy. For $1,299 at Bunnings or Ecovacs it is wire-free, rated for 600 m² and 45% (24°) slopes, and cuts from 30 to 80 mm in 5 mm steps, a range Bunnings says suits most common Australian lawn grasses. Ecovacs Australia gives a three-year warranty. The weak points are a 45 minute run time on the Amazon listing and edges left about 10.5 cm wide.
If your lawn is small and simple, the Gardena Sileno Minimo 250 is $899 at Bunnings for up to 250 m² and 25% slopes. It weighs 6.1 kg, sets up over Bluetooth, and Gardena says its lift sensor stops the blades immediately. Its top cutting height is 45 mm, so it suits lawns kept short. The Husqvarna Automower Aspire R4 ($999) covers up to 400 m² and adds app control, voice control and a frost guard.
The best deal on the day we checked was Husqvarna’s half-price campaign on the Automower 405X: $1,434 with a small installation kit, against $2,868 normally. It is rated for 600 m² and 40% slopes and has GPS theft tracking, a PIN and an alarm. Campaign prices end, so check before you plan around it.
Wire-free at Bunnings, the Mammotion Yuka Mini 600 and Roborock RockNeo Q105 are both $1,499. The Mammotion has a three-year warranty including the battery and a removable battery; the Roborock has the wider 220 mm cut and needs no antenna, but it was new with no reviews. The Anthbot Genie 600E is rated for the most lawn here, 900 m², for $1,199, but it is sold by a Marketplace seller rather than Bunnings itself, so check who handles warranty. Ozito PXC owners can add the Ozito Freelexo Cam ($1,250, battery included), which finds the lawn edge with a camera. For a courtyard, the Bosch VisiMow 18V-200 needs nothing installed at all.
If your budget stretches, the main robot mower guide covers the $2,000 to $4,000 models, and the slopes guide covers hilly blocks, which is where budget robots fall short first.
Running costs
A robot’s ongoing costs are small but real. Blades wear and get swapped in packs: Bunnings had 12 Ozito Freelexo blades for $19.95 and 12 Worx Landroid blades for $39.95, and Mammotion sells 24 Endurance blades for $79. Some robots need data: Mammotion’s 4G module for the Yuka minis is $229 with a three-year trial. Husqvarna gives two years of warranty as standard and five if you buy its maintenance kit and follow the service schedule. A garage for the dock is optional: $189 for Ozito’s and $329 for Mammotion’s at Bunnings.
What to avoid
A robot rated at exactly your lawn size or slope. Budget robots have the least headroom. A 250 m² robot on a 250 m² lawn mows every hour it can and still falls behind in a growth spurt, and a 25% robot on a 25% bank will struggle when the grass is wet. Buy the next size up.
Forgetting what is not in the box. The Bosch VisiMow ships without a battery or charger. Some robots need a 4G module for remote tracking. Add those before you compare prices.
Assuming a Marketplace listing is a Bunnings sale. Bunnings Marketplace items are sold and shipped by other sellers, which can change how returns and warranty claims work. The Anthbot is one of these; the Ecovacs, Mammotion, Roborock and Gardena robots above are sold by Bunnings itself.
The picks in detail
Ecovacs Goat O600 RTK
$1,299 at bunnings.com.au · checked 18 Oct 2026
Wire-free RTK, 600 m², 45% slopes, 30 to 80 mm cut and a three-year warranty for $1,299.
- Lawn area: 600 m²
- Max slope: 45% (24°)
- Navigation: RTK (TrueMapping 2.0) + AI camera
- RTK base or service: RTK; Ecovacs' pages do not say whether a base station is needed (the Amazon Care Kit adds an RTK power adapter)
- Cutting width: 19 cm
- Cutting height: 30–80 mm in 5 mm steps
- IP rating: IPX6
- Battery: 45 min run time (Amazon listing)
Pros
- $1,299 at Bunnings and Ecovacs for wire-free RTK with camera obstacle avoidance
- Cuts from 30 to 80 mm, a range Bunnings says suits most common Australian lawn grasses
- Three-year warranty from Ecovacs Australia; the Amazon listing is the official Australian version
Cons
- Short 45 minute run time on the Amazon listing
- Edge cut is 10.5 cm from the border, so you still trim
- Bunnings lists it as special order
Paid links: we may earn a commission. Price checked 18 Oct 2026.
Gardena Sileno Minimo 250
$899 at bunnings.com.au · checked 18 Oct 2026
Boundary-wire robot for 250 m² with a PIN lock and a lift sensor that stops the blades, $899.
- Lawn area: 250 m²
- Max slope: 25%
- Navigation: Boundary wire
- RTK base or service: None (wire)
- Cutting width: 16 cm
- Cutting height: 20–45 mm
- Noise: 57 dB
- Anti-theft: PIN code; lift sensor stops the blades
- Warranty: 2 years, 3 if registered within 3 months
Pros
- $899 at Bunnings with the battery included
- 6.1 kg and Bluetooth app setup
- Lift sensor stops the blades and a frost sensor stops mowing under 5°C
Cons
- Boundary wire to lay
- 45 mm top cutting height, the lowest maximum here, so it suits lawns kept short
- Bluetooth only, so no control away from home
Paid links: we may earn a commission. Price checked 18 Oct 2026.
Husqvarna Automower Aspire R4
$999 at husqvarna.com · checked 18 Oct 2026
400 m² with 150 m of wire and 300 stakes in the box, app and voice control, $999.
- Lawn area: 400 m²
- Max slope: Not stated on the pages we read
- Navigation: Boundary wire
- RTK base or service: None (wire)
- App: Automower Connect (Wi-Fi, Bluetooth), Alexa, Google Home
- Warranty: 2 years, 5 with the maintenance kit and servicing (Husqvarna)
Pros
- $999 with 150 m of boundary wire and 300 stakes in the box
- App control plus Alexa and Google Home
- Frost guard and a weather timer that cuts mowing when growth slows
Cons
- You lay and peg a boundary wire around the lawn and any garden beds
- 400 m² limit
- Husqvarna does not list the slope rating on the pages we loaded
Paid links: we may earn a commission. Price checked 18 Oct 2026.
Husqvarna Automower 405X
$1,434 at husqvarna.com · checked 18 Oct 2026
Half price on Husqvarna's site when we checked: $1,434 with an install kit for 600 m² and 40% slopes.
- Lawn area: 600 m²
- Max slope: 40%, 15% at the boundary
- Navigation: Boundary wire
- RTK base or service: None (wire)
- Anti-theft: GPS tracking, PIN code, alarm
- Warranty: 2 years, 5 with the maintenance kit and servicing (Husqvarna)
Pros
- Half price on Husqvarna's site on the day we checked: $1,434 with a small installation kit
- GPS theft tracking, PIN and alarm
- Handles 40% slopes inside the lawn
Cons
- Boundary wire to install
- Only 15% slope allowed along the boundary itself
- Campaign price; the normal price on the same page is $2,868
Paid links: we may earn a commission. Price checked 18 Oct 2026.
Mammotion Yuka Mini 600
$1,499 at bunnings.com.au · checked 18 Oct 2026
NetRTK and stereo cameras, 600 m², three-year warranty including battery, $1,499.
- Lawn area: 600 m²
- Max slope: 45% (about 24°)
- Drive: Two-wheel drive
- Navigation: NetRTK + stereo camera AI vision
- RTK base or service: Mammotion iNavi NetRTK service; Bunnings' box list also includes an RTK reference station
- Cutting width: 190 mm
- Cutting height: 20–60 mm, manual
- IP rating: IPX6
- Battery: 4.5 Ah, removable
- Anti-theft: Geofence alarm; 4G module sold separately
Pros
- $1,499 at Bunnings for a wire-free robot with camera obstacle detection
- Three-year warranty including the battery
- Removable battery and a hose-washable deck
Cons
- Bunnings' feature list says 45% is 28 degrees; 45 percent is about 24 degrees
- Bunnings says no antenna is required but lists an RTK reference station and radio antenna in the box, so ask before you plan the install
- 4G tracking is an extra purchase
Paid links: we may earn a commission. Price checked 18 Oct 2026.
Roborock RockNeo Q105
$1,499 at bunnings.com.au · checked 18 Oct 2026
Network RTK with no antenna to install, a 220 mm cut and 45% slopes, $1,499 at Bunnings.
- Lawn area: 500 m²
- Max slope: 45% (24.2°)
- Navigation: Network RTK + camera (VSLAM)
- RTK base or service: No antenna to install
- Cutting width: 220 mm
- Cutting height: 20–60 mm
- IP rating: Listed as 6 by Bunnings
- Noise: 58 dB
Pros
- $1,499 at Bunnings with no antenna to install
- 220 mm cut, the widest of the budget robots here
- 45% slope rating
Cons
- New to Bunnings, with no reviews when we checked
- Network RTK needs a data connection
- Bunnings does not list the battery capacity
Paid links: we may earn a commission. Price checked 18 Oct 2026.
Anthbot Genie 600E
$1,199 at bunnings.com.au · checked 18 Oct 2026
Rated for 900 m² and 45% slopes for $1,199 through a Bunnings Marketplace seller.
- Lawn area: 900 m²
- Max slope: 45%
- Navigation: Full-band RTK + four-camera vision
- RTK base or service: Not stated on the listings we read
Pros
- 900 m² rating for $1,199 at Bunnings Marketplace
- Four cameras and a 300° field of view for obstacle detection (maker)
- 20+ mowing zones
Cons
- Sold by a Marketplace seller at Bunnings, not Bunnings itself
- The listings do not say whether an RTK base station is needed
- Two different sellers (a Bunnings Marketplace seller, Universal Robotics on Amazon), so check who handles the warranty
Paid links: we may earn a commission. Price checked 18 Oct 2026.
Bosch VisiMow 18V-200
See retailer · checked 18 Oct 2026
Camera-only, nothing to install, for up to 200 m². Battery sold separately; check the current price on Amazon.
- Lawn area: 200 m²
- Max slope: Not stated
- Navigation: Camera only (SmartVision)
- RTK base or service: None: no wires, no infrastructure
- Cutting width: 18 cm
- Cutting height: 20–60 mm
- Battery: 18V Power for All, not included
Pros
- Sold and shipped by Amazon Australia
- Nothing to install: Bosch says it goes from storage to mowing in three button presses
- Uses the same 18V battery as Bosch and other Power for All garden tools
Cons
- Battery and charger are not in the box
- Rated for only 200 m²
- Bosch calls it semi-autonomous; it suits small lawns and spot jobs, not a set-and-forget yard
Paid links: we may earn a commission. Price checked 18 Oct 2026.
Frequently asked questions
What is the cheapest good robot lawn mower in Australia?
The Gardena Sileno Minimo 250 at $899 from Bunnings is the cheapest robot we found there, for lawns up to 250 m² with a boundary wire. The cheapest wire-free robot we would buy is the Ecovacs Goat O600 RTK at $1,299.
Are cheap robot lawn mowers any good?
Yes, if you match them to the lawn. Budget robots give up area, slope rating or convenience rather than cut quality: the $899 Gardena handles 250 m² and 25% slopes and needs a wire, while $1,299 to $1,499 now buys a wire-free robot for 500 to 600 m².
Is a boundary-wire robot mower still worth buying?
For a small, stable lawn, yes. Boundary-wire robots such as the Husqvarna Aspire R4 and Gardena Minimo cost less, need no satellite signal or data plan, and use the approach Husqvarna has refined since its first robot mower in 1995. The cost is an afternoon pegging wire and moving it when you change a garden bed.
What does a robot mower cost to run?
Mostly blades and, on some models, data. Replacement blade packs we saw were $19.95 for 12 (Ozito) and $39.95 for 12 (Worx) at Bunnings, and $79 for 24 from Mammotion. Mammotion's 4G module for the Yuka minis is $229.